Catalonia is located in the north-east of the Iberian Peninsula. Its territory covers 32.000km2, with 7,508,106 people registered inhabitants as of 1 January 2015, of which 1,028,069 are foreigners. It is bordered to the north by France and Andorra, to the west by Aragon, to the south by the province of Valencia, and to the east by the Mediterranean Sea.

The region of Catalonia is divided into four provinces: Barcelona, Girona, Lleida and Tarragona, and seven jurisdictions: Barcelona, Girona, Lleida, Camp de Tarragona, Catalonia Central, Terres de l’Ebre and l’Alt Pirineu and Aran. The capital of Catalonia is the city of Barcelona, and the national holiday, or Diada, is on 11 September.

Catalan is the official native language of Catalonia. Castilian Spanish is also an official language in Catalonia. Additionally, Occitan is the official language of the Vall d’Aran.

Catalonia considers diversity to be a source of richness and coexistence is always based on mutual respect.


More about Catalonia

Neighbourliness and living in harmony

Citizen participation